Your experts in Sports Orthopaedics
Department of Orthopaedic Sports Medicine CONTACT Phone +49-(0)89 4140-7840

Introduction

The main focus of the department of sports orthopaedics is the surgical treatment of both acute injuries to the musculoskeletal system and degenerative disease of the large joints. The department specializes in the knee, shoulder, elbow and ankle joints. The main objective is to restore the function of the injured joint. For this purpose, we offer reconstructive, replacement and corrective procedures. Soft tissue injuries of the musculoskeletal system, especially tendon and muscle tears, are also part of our treatment spectrum. Whenever possible, so-called minimally invasive surgical techniques (arthroscopy) are used to ensure an early mobilisation and a quick recovery of performance in day-to-day life, work and sports.

Upper extremity

Shoulder

Shoulder pain is a frequent complaint and can have multiple causes. A careful clinical examination combined with radiological imaging procedures (X-Ray, MRI, CT) is fundamental for an accurate diagnosis. The results will give some indication about the necessity of conservative or operative treatment. Depending on the nature of the injury or damage, we can offer state-of-the-art minimally invasive, arthroscopic or open operative procedures. The most frequent pathologies and their appropriate operative therapy are explained below.

Elbow

The causes of elbow pain are many and varied, including inflammatory reactions due to overuse in everyday life and sports, rheumatic diseases and acute injury. It is important to differentiate the pathology exactly in the history and clinical examination as well as through radiological diagnostics in order to taylor an ideal management plan for it. In addition to conservative treatment, arthroscopic and open surgical procedures are available. The most common pathologies and their therapy are briefly explained below.

Lower extremity

Knee

The function of the knee joint is based on a complex interaction of bone, cartilage, menisci, ligaments, tendons and muscles. Disorders in any of these structures can lead to an unstable and/or painful knee joint. Sports injuries to the knee joint can be caused both by an accident (traumatic) or the effect of constant overloading (chronic). Traumatic injuries usually affect the ligaments (e.g. torn cruciate ligament) and the menisci (e.g. torn meniscus). Chronic injuries mainly affect the cartilage, which can be thinned out by constant overloading (early arthritis = wear and tear of the joint).

Ankle

Different types of sports injuries and wear and tear occur at the ankle. Injuries to the outer ligaments of the ankle joint are considered the most common ligament injuries in humans. For minor ligament injuries, a conservative management plan can usually be followed. More severe injuries are also only be treated acutely if other structures are involved, e.g. the syndesmosis ligament, cartilage or bone.

Cartilage / Arthritis

Cartilage damage

This method is indicated for isolated, small (<2 square centimeters), well defined cartilage lesions with a preserved subchondral bone layer. In this regenerative procedure, small holes are “pecked” into the defect area arthroscopically, from which mesenschymal stem cells then migrate to form regenerative cartilage tissue.

Bone-cartilage defect

If an isolated  cartilage-bone defect with intact surrounding tissue in the weight-bearing area of the knee joint (defect size up to a maximum of 3 square centimetres) is evident, the transplantation of one or more autologous cartilage-bone cylinders from a non-weight-bearing area of the knee joint represents a good therapeutic option. This technique is performed on the knee, ankle, shoulder and elbow.

Osteoarthritis

Osteoarthritis is a degenerative joint disease, which is mainly caused by chronic overload. As well as accidents with traumatic injury to cartilage, menisci or ligaments, pronounced malalignments such as bowleg and knock-knees may predispose to wear and tear.

Tendon and muscle injuries

Tendon and muscle injuries

With increasing sporting activity in all age groups, soft-tissue injuries to the musculoskeletal system, especially tendon and muscle injuries, are increasingly moving into the focus of sports orthopedic surgeons. Anatomically, the muscles of the human body attach to the bones at each end via a tendon.

Ihre Experten für Sportorthopädie
Abteilung und Poliklinik für Sportorthopädie KONTAKT Telefon +49-(0)89 4140-7840

Einführung

Der Schwerpunkt der Abteilung für Sportorthopädie umfasst die operative Versorgung sowohl akuter Verletzungen des Bewegungsapparates als auch von degenerativen Schäden der großen Gelenke. Die Abteilung ist dabei auf das Knie-, Schulter-, Ellbogen- und Sprunggelenk spezialisiert. Das oberste Ziel ist die Wiederherstellung der Funktion des verletzten Gelenkes. Dazu werden rekonstruktive Verfahren oder Ersatz- bzw. Korrekturoperationen angeboten. Auch Weichteilverletzungen des Bewegungsapparates, insbesondere Sehnen- und Muskel(ab)risse sind Teil unseres Behandlungsspektrums. Wenn möglich kommen sog. minimal-invasive Operationstechniken (Arthroskopie) zum Einsatz, die in der Regel eine frühe Mobilisation und ein rasches Wiedererreichen der Leistungsfähigkeit in Alltag, Beruf und Sport ermöglichen.

Obere Extremität

Schulter

Schulterschmerzen sind häufig und können vielfältige Ursachen haben. Eine sorgfältige klinische Untersuchung, ergänzt durch entsprechende radiologische Bildgebungsverfahren (Röntgen, MRT, CT), ist die Grundlage für eine korrekte Diagnose. Erst dann kann die Entscheidung über eine weitere konservative oder operative Therapienotwendigkeit getroffen werden. Je nach Art der Verletzung oder des Schadens stehen, sofern eine Operation erforderlich ist, dem aktuellsten Stand der Technik entsprechende minimal invasive, arthroskopische oder offene Operationsverfahren zur Verfügung. Die häufigsten Pathologien und deren Therapie werden in der Folge kurz erläutert.

Ellenbogen

Die Ursachen für Ellenbogenschmerzen sind vielseitig, sie reichen von Überlastungsreaktionen im Alltag und Sport, rheumatischen Erkrankungen bis zur akuten Verletzung. Es gilt durch Anamnese und klinische Untersuchung sowie radiologische Diagnostik die Pathologie genau zu differenzieren um die Therapie darauf exakt abzustimmen. Für die Therapie stehen neben der konservativen Behandlung die arthroskopischen und offene Operationsverfahren zur Verfügung. Die häufigsten Pathologien und deren Therapie werden in der Folge kurz erläutert.

Untere Extremität

Knie

Die Funktion des Kniegelenkes basiert auf einem komplexen Zusammenwirken von Knochen, Knorpel, Menisken, Bändern, Sehnen und Muskeln. Störungen in einer dieser Strukturen können zu einem instabilen und/oder schmerzhaften Kniegelenk führen. Sportverletzungen am Kniegelenk können sowohl Ursache eines Unfalls (traumatisch), als auch Auswirkung andauernder Überlastung sein (chronisch). Traumatische Verletzungen betreffen in der Regel die Bänder (z.B. Kreuzbandriss) und die Menisken (z.B. Meniskusriss). Chronische Schädigungen betreffen v.a. den Knorpel, welcher durch andauernde Überlastung ausgedünnt sein kann (beginnende Arthrose = Gelenkverschleiß).

Oberes Sprunggelenk

Am Sprunggelenk treten unterschiedliche Arten von Sportverletzungen und Verschleißerkrankungen auf. Verletzungen der Außenbänder bei Sprunggelenksdistorsionen gelten als häufigste Bandverletzungen des Menschen. Bei leichten Bandverletzungen kann in der Regel eine konservative Therapie durchgeführt werden. Auch höhergradige Verletzungen werden akut nur bei Mitbeteiligung anderer Strukturen, z.B. des Syndesmosenbandes, des Knorpels oder des Knochens, operativ versorgt.

Knorpel / Arthrose

Knorpelschaden

Diese Methode ist bei isolierten, kleinen (<2 Quadratzentimeter), gut abgrenzbaren Knorpelläsionen mit erhaltender, subchondraler Knochenschicht angezeigt. Bei diesem regenerativen Verfahren werden arthroskopisch kleine Löcher in das Defektareal „gepickt“, aus denen dann mesenschymale Stammzellen einwandern und ein Regeneratknorpelgewebe bilden.

Knochen-Knorpel-Defekt

Zeigt sich ein fokal begrenzter Knorpel-Knochen-Defekt mit intaktem, umgebendem Gewebe im Bereich der Belastungszone des Kniegelenks (Defektgröße bis max. 3 Quadratzentimeter), so stellt die Transplantation eines oder mehrerer körpereigener Knorpel-Knochen-Zylinder aus einer gering belasteten Bereich des Kniegelenks eine gute Therapieoption dar. Diese Technik wird am Knie, dem oberen Sprunggelenk, der Schulter und dem Ellenbogen durchgeführt.

Arthrose

Die Arthrose bezeichnet eine degenerative Gelenkerkrankung, welche vorwiegend durch eine Überbeanspruchung bedingt ist. Als Ursachen kommen neben Unfallereignissen mit traumatischer Knorpel-, Meniskus- oder Bandverletzungen, auch ausgeprägte Beinfehlstellungen, insbesondere O- und X-Beinfehlstellungen in Frage.

Sehnen- und Muskelverletzungen

Sehnen- und Muskelverletzungen

Mit zunehmender sportlicher Betätigung aller Altersstufen treten Weichteilverletzungen des Bewegungsapparates, hier speziell Sehnen- und Muskelverletzungen, vermehrt ins Blickfeld sportorthopädischer Aufmerksamkeit. Anatomisch setzen die Muskeln des menschlichen Körpers über einen sehnigen Anteil an den Knochen an.